Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Donate now
David E. Bartlett Lifetime Achievement Award
Share |

David E. Bartlett Lifetime Achievement Award


The award-intended to cement the efforts of the Society and College toward common goals in animal reproduction, to reward and inspire excellence, improve the visibility of theriogenology, and to annually recognize the efforts of the founders-particularly honors Dr. David E. Bartlett, first president of the College. Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Bartlett was responsible for deriving the terms "Theriogenology” and "Theriogenologists,” and was instrumental in gaining hard-won AVMA recognition for the American College of Theriogenologists in1971.

Dr. Cliff Shipley honored with 2017 Bartlett Award

Dr. Shipley was raised on a diversified farm in Southwest Iowa. He attended Northwest Missouri State University where he got his BS in Animal Science and then attended Iowa State University where he got his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree. He practiced in Northeast Iowa before going back to his hometown where he practiced for three years before taking a position at the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. There he was the head of the ambulatory practice, and small ruminant and swine extension veterinarian for the state of Virginia. He subsequently relocated back to Iowa to manage a large swine operation and consult with a local feed company. Since 1991, he has taught veterinary medicine at the University of Illinois where he became board certified in theriogenology. He currently is the attending veterinarian for Agricultural Animals for the University of Illinois, teaches theriogenology, consults with deer farmers across the country and has his own elk, whitetail deer and mule deer farm. He is currently on the board of directors for the North American Deer Farmers Association, an advisory board for Pneu-Dart, the Illinois Livestock Advisory Board and the scientific advisor for the Illinois Deer Farmers Association. He has presented talks nationally and internationally on cervidae. When not working he plants and attends to his trees, food plots and hunts!

View the 2013 Therio Foundation Video

The video provides an overview of the work the Therio Foundation is doing and a special tribute to the 2013 David E. Bartlett Award for Lifetime Achievement in Theriogenology recipient, Dr. Michelle LeBlanc.




Previous Bartlett Award winners


Community Search

2018 Canine Breeder Excellence Seminar at Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine